TriAgile 2014

Adolfo Neto
2 min readFeb 2, 2018

--

On April 2014 I started my sabbatical year at the North Carolina State University’s Computer Science Departament with Professor Laurie Williams.

Laurie, knowing that I was interested in Agile Methods, suggested that I went to TriAgile, a local conference that was happening for the first time on May 2th, 2014. It took place at the main campus of Wake Technical Community College. I even got a 50% discount using the “wolfpack” code.

If you are interested in Agile Methods, you probably know that the largest conference is called Agile and happens in the US. It is North American but it attracts people from all over the world. There is also a big European conference, XP, and many other smaller national conferences, such as Agile Brazil.

But TriAgile is a local conference. It tends to attract mostly people living in the Research Triangle Park (RTP) area: Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary, Apex and others. It is a short event, lasting one day. There are other events like that, such as Southern Fried Agile. Tomorrow I am going to Elixir Brasil 2018 which will also be a one day event.

One of the main speakers at TriAgile 2014 was Andy Hunt. Andy is one of Agile Manifesto signatories. He is also the author of some books and he created, with Dave Thomas, the Pragmatic Bookshelf publisher, a published focused on programming books.

The main point of his talk was that we should use the Antifragile concept, created by Nassim Nicholas Taleb, in software development. I agree and I was happy to see that I was not the only one that thought that this concept could be applied to software development.

I took some pictures of the event:

--

--

Adolfo Neto

Associate Professor at UTFPR. Interested in programming (Elixir), logic and Deep Work.